Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Operations Research CC Study

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Guy LeBas

My name is Guy LeBas; I am an operations research student tasked with building a mathematical model of a real-world call center. EffectiveIy, I’ll be a staffing consultant at the CC, which I have already chosen.

My question is this: beyond average call duration, volume, abandon, and service specifications, as well as employee wages and HR info, what data do you suggest I collect?

I’m knowledgable about the theoretical and mathematical aspects of OpsResearch, but I have little real-world experience. Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
    Guy

Cameron Dewe

The primary thing that determines how many staff a call centre needs is how long things take to be done. Talking on the phone is not the only thing the staff do; they also process the calls; ask questions of their supervisors; call customers/clients/others back; take and make personal calls; have meals and rest breaks; take time out for training; go on leave; report in sick and are asked to do numerous other things on the company time.

So together with call duration, you also need to measure the average duration an agent spends after a call doing processing work. You should also measure the amount of time an agent spends “not ready” when they have no calls to process, as well as time away from the phone on breaks, meals, Training, Coaching, etc.

You should probably be measuring the number of calls handled and be relating this to the ideal call model for the type of call transaction you are processing. Agents who are too fast or too slow compared to that ideal call model may be compromising call quality, so you should have some means of assessing accuracy and quality of calls, as this can be a hidden money waster.