Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Connecting ATA 186 through IOS Gateway

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Karin

Hi..I’m new in VoIP. I’m trying 2 atas 186 connect to each other through the same gateway.

Both atas, have as gateway the ip of the cisco 7200 router..
    This router has the dial-peer settings ( i follow the directions of this page : http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/gatecont/ps514/products_configuration_example09186a0080094adf.shtml

But it always sound busy.. and in the router logs appear.. disconnect… “Cant’t gateway with peer tag”… (but the tags and ip’s are ok)

This gateway is also their static route (for atas).. Do you have any ideas about this?.

I can make this atas talk with each other if as gateway I put the other ata ip address..That works fine.. but i want an ata call as many other atas as i determine… so i need the gateway.

I will apreciate your help.

ismail

Hello,
    I could not understand your scenario exactly.
    Is your scenario like:

ATA—->GW—–>ATA

?
    If yes, your gw must have IP-to-IP feature,it is provided with specila IOS.
    ismail can

Karin

Yes, that’s the scenario..

ATA — GW — ATA

is this posible ?
    how do i know if my IOS can do it ?

Thanks

Noname

You need to have a gatekeeper, not a gateway.
    The gateway is a termi nating device, one that will get VOIP and pass it to the PSTN or phone lines.

The gatekeeper is a device theat will receive the registration from one ATA and tell the other ATA ‘s where to send the calls.

Get the IOS from the Cisco router. Go to the Cisco site and find out if your IOS supports gatekeeper.
    Normally, the small units do not support gatekeeper.
    I think that the smallest cisco router that supports gatekeeper is the 2600 series.

Best luck!!!

ismail

hello,