Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

VoIP managerial issues

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    Krishna

Hi,

I am new to this forum. I am a management student and have chosen to analyse Busines challenges in deploying VoIP, as a project topic. I hope it is ok to raise business related queries on this forum.
    To start,
    While Voice over a data network seems logical, simply becuase there is more data than voice these days, why is Voice over IP a logical choice? I read somewhere else on this site that IP was not technically suitable for voice. Were there any other contender protocols?

Thanks in advance for your answers

Krishna

Phone Guy

Your question is a little difficult to answer, simply due to the number of variables. But here is a simplistic answer.

One of the “drawbacks” that is often pointed out, is that the IP network has not resend capability. In most data network protocols, there are provisions for resending lost packets of data. When IP was “invented”, it was decided that for simplicity, that would be eliminated. Thus, packets of anything on the web thsat go astray are lost for ever.. Another stated “drawback” is that IP does not used a fixed point to point connection. Packets can be sent in varying paths, which leads to latency (delay) being introduced. Either of these would degarde the voice being sent.

From a practical viewpoint, in most developed countries the IP networks are being expanded to carry the traffic demands. Having enough network (“pipe”) mitigates or eliminates lost packets and latency. Users are successfully using IP for voice today with very good results. There may occur an occassional network problem, bit those which are obvious to the users are not common.