Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

CAMEL

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Andrew

Hi Guys,

A bit off the topic but I wonder if you guys can help me with the following: (btw I am new to CAMEL and relatively new to Mobile Comms)

1. CAMEL talks about O-CSI and T-CSI, where O-CSI is sent to the VLR of the visited MSC at LU and changes to O-CSI, and O and T_CSI are sent to the GMSC when it interrogates the HLR for routing info (GMSCs handle calls originating from the PSTN or other mobile networks, right ??)

Now why is an (V)MSC not mentioned and only a GMSC mentioned in terms of receiving the O & T-CSI?

As I understand it a call could be mobile originated and terminated and the MSC serving the MS originating the call would need to interrogate the HLR for routing info.

Does this mean that a mobile originated call to another MS in the network will not trigger TDPs set in the T-CSI??

2. I have a vague understanding of O-CSI and T-CSI !! could someone explain the difference between the two?

Kind Regards

Andrew

Roameo

Hi,
    Intresting questions.
    Let me first clarify point 2 of yours.
    O-CSI is used for MO-triggers from the VLR. So if A makes call to B A’s MSC/SSF uses O-CSI to decide whom to send the DP.This O-CSI is obtained during LU.
    B’s GMSC first fires an SRI(routing info) to get the T-CSI.
    This T-CSI is then used to fire MT-Dp’s.
    I could not figure out your 1st question though. Could you please elaborate on it?
    Cheers!
    R….

Andrew

Hi Roameo,

Thanks for the reply. Your explanation was helpful.

I think the T-CSI issue has been clarified (actually read another previous post)

Let me explain:

T-CSI DPs are triggered in the GMSC. Now the originating MSC maybe the GMSC or it may forward a call to the GMSC where any CAMEL service for the B party is triggered.

All in all, CAMEL services are triggered if a T-CSI exists for B party.