Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

To Pix PLZ your reply

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    GPRS

Hi Pix,
    Hi everyone,

I’m GPRS optimization enginner and a new member in this forum.

Well, I am facing a major problem, i have a BSC suffering from high UL_TBF_Drop_Rate (around 10%) cause T3169 Timer expiry (around 96%), and high DL_TBF_Drop_Rate (around 15%) cause T3195 Timer expiry (around 95%).

Please advice me how to proceed and what are different parameters i must check and change to fix this problem

your reply is appreciated

pix

hi,

Could you please post the definition of those 2 timers ?
    10% is not so high, so it might actually be a radio issue. Reduce your initial coding scheme, enable link adaptation, and check the (speech) HO QUALITY % on the same frequency as the one carrying the GPRS.

Regards,
    pix

Rex

Hi GPRS,
    What is your SDCCH DROP? If it is high and GPRS is configured on BCCH TRX than you should check BCCH planning. How many cells are suffering on that BSC? What is your HO Uplink quality rate?
    Best Regards,
    Rex

GPRS

Hi Pix,
    Hi Rex,

Thanks for replying me,

Timer definition:

T3195 : Linked to TBF and TFI, it starts when N3105 reaches to maximum value, and when it expired the wetwork releases TFI resource

T3169: Response to USF tolerance timer, On expiring, the USF is released (which means it can be reassigned to another mobile station)

But it’s not really clear for me this definition

FYI:
    – NW is Siemens
    – All freq of the cell is carrying GPRS
    – Avg of 10 % of TBF drop rate at Cell level (apprx all cells)
    – HO_Quality % at BSC level is around 7%

PLZ ur comment

pix

hi,

ok, sounds like real radio issue on GPRS. You should focus on decreasing the Coding Scheme (CS), in order to make it more robust.

1/ CS-INIT = CS-1 rather than CS-2
    2/ LINK ADAPTATION (LA) = ON
    3/ Is your EGPRS activated (or GPRS only) ?