Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

O&M link problem with flexi 2g/3g

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    J.T.

Hello! I’ve been doing field repairs for the same operator for about 6 years now, and I’m facing the strangest problem so far. The problem started after thunderstorm some 2 weeks ago (our crew been very busy so we are still struggling with this one amidst all the other tasks on hand). Subjects are 2 nokia flexi sites. 2G multiradio and 3G flexi. I first got to the site with information that sites are “stuck”. So I got to the site and checked out both units with manager, everything seemed ok, no alarms, o&m up on both, all the links up with the 3G. Just that all the cells were inactive. Gave them both a reset (electricity). No radio-unit alarms whatsoever.
    After this everything got back to this exactly same situation. O&m up, links up etc… Called to the bsc and he told that he can’t get access to neither one of the sites.
    Allthough when he gave commands like reset to the 2g I saw that they came through, bsc just didn’t receive ack for those thus showing time out at the bsc side.
    Ok so, started to investigate this piece of marvelous imperfection!

Some background information before I go on:

Site is in middle of nowhere, rural area.
    Transmission for both sites (1xE1 for 2G and ethernet for 3G) comes through 2 radiolink hops, both are nsn flexi packets. And in the very last knot they go in ESS the ethernet and marconi sdh the 2mb.