Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Uplink TBF & Downlink TBF

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    George

Number of Uplink TBF Establishment Attempts: 1799
    Number of Downlink TBF Establsihment Attempts: 1507

I think Uplink attempts should be more and Downlink Attempts should be very less. When I want to attempt to any Web Site I use UL TBF. When I need DL TBF?

Could you give more information in which service request we use DL and UL?

Thanks a lot

pix

to access a website, you need UL TBF to send the request
    but to download the webpage, you need a DL TBF ! 🙂

George

Thanks a lot Pix, I’m new in GPRS system. Could you give more information for the following questions:

1. Is there any value for TBF?
    2. Why do we use TFI if we already have TBF?
    3. Is TFI cell parameter and changeable?
    4. If I want to know the downloaded/uploaded traffic in a cell. To which counter should I look at?
    5. If I want to know the average DL/UL speed. To which KPI should I look at: RLC throughput or LLC throughput?

Thanks a lot in advance.

pix

1. Is there any value for TBF?
    _ no, a tbf is the list of timeslot “pdch” that the MS can use in one direction.

_ to identify the TBF that this MS uses compared to other MS in the same TRX. It is just a logical identifier.

3. Is TFI cell parameter and changeable?
    _ no, it is dynamically allocated by the MFS. It doesn’t mean anything to us, mere mortals.

4. If I want to know the downloaded/uploaded traffic in a cell. To which counter should I look at?
    _ indicators are vendor dependant. in ALU, you can check the RLC throughput per cell.

5. If I want to know the average DL/UL speed. To which KPI should I look at: RLC throughput or LLC throughput?
    _ LLC throughput per TBF = throughput from user point of view. If you don’t have it, then you can use the useful RLC throughput per TBF. It is almost as precise.