Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

SDCCH DROPS

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 99 total)
  • Author
    gk

Could you tell me what are all the actions to be taken to reduce SDCCH drops?

Bouh52

Check SDCCH MHT if this one exceeds 3,5 sec , check TCH blocking. Check related counters of SDCCH drop example due to ABIS, RF , A-interface etc.
    Most common case is interference.

silvia

Hi guys,

I just found about this forum and I think this is really useful! I am an RF engineer working for an operator using Nokia BSS and we have a site that is having many SDCCH drops (around 60%) on a LAC change border with 2 TRX. It used to work fine until 1 month ago.

We have alarm 7745 CHANNEL FAILURE RATE ABOVE DEFINED THRESHOLD but we have checked both TRX with a loop test and they seem to work properly, we changed SDCCHs from one TRX to another without any improvement.

We have checked interferences, cables, masses and Baseband cards but it has not improved.

Do you have any ideas what the problem could be and how to solve it?

thanks very much in advance!

Pix

It suddenly happened that the SDCCH drop rate increased ? Did you change frequencies or the antenna design ?

When something like this happens (and I didn’t change anything on the site), I usually suspect a hardware problem.
    Try resetting the Abis link, the TRXs, etc…

Then you can try to change the frequencies of the cell, and eventually go drive-test around this area.

As said ealier, check the Mean Holding Time (MHT). What is it’s vallue ? What about the TCH assignment success rate ? The Call drop rate ? The TCH MHT ?

Good luck Silvia, let us know how it goes…

silvia

Hi Pix,

the SDCCH drop rate increased all of a sudden and we did not change the antennas nor the frequencies, that is why we also suspect it is a HW problem but still could not find it.