Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

GSM basics

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 157 total)
  • Author
    Charlie

Hi

I am very new to GSM network and already I am ecountering basic problems.

sampling frquency for voice is standardised to 8Khz…which means (i guess) that a voice signal is sampled every 0.125ms (right?)..but a GSM channel (Time slot) last for 0.577ms…which is too long for the next sample…how was this value (0.577ms) worked out ?
    regards
    Charlie

serena

hi charlie

pls note that the time slot isnt the one thats doing the sampling. In one time slot there could be a number of samples that are taken through.

Arun

How can i improve the Quality of GSm Networks.Pls give me the basics and guidelines related to this topic.

Muzammil

Hi Charlie,
    Sampling freq. for Voice is 8Khz for PSTN, i.e, there are 8000 voice samples/sec. And We ger .125ms is 1/8000. You are right!. This is very true to the PSTN trunks.
    But in GSM traffic channels, due to the scarcity of open air frequencies. The vocie channel in GSM network (in Air Interface) is 13kbps. And the framing methods are also entirely different from the PSTN trunks.

Below link is the detailed overview of GSM technology …
    http://ccnga.uwaterloo.ca/~jscouria/GSM/gsmreport.html

In the report u can find the framing information and the air interface specs.

Stefano

Hi Arun,
    could you explain better your topic ?

faris

hi all
    can nyone tell me how they rech the standard in GSM :8 time slot per frame

Arun

What are the basic thing which i need to take care in the planning of BSC Planning in a Network.Also please tell me the basic things for BSC Integaration which ralates to their planning in the new network.

Also if possible,give me the details about frequency hopping.

Sanjeev

Hi All,

Can any1 explain me what are the advantages of SS7 over R2MF signalling ?

Regards
    Sanjeev

Monica

Hi Sanjeev,