Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Microcell Antenna Heigth

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Abdel

Hi everybody,

I am a beginner in GSM RF optimization and planning. I would like to ask you guys I have planned a to split some area where traffic is very congested into several microcells. the area has so some buildings. As you know microcells antennas tends to be located below the roof level. For security reasons we have placed the antenna on the top of a building which is 12 meters high. Therefore how can I limit the coverage area of this cell since it has the same height of our macrocells. Do you think a great mechanical or electrical tilt may help or some kind of power output reduction made from the OMCR. I am waiting 4 ur answers. Thanks

Abdel

pix

you forgot to tell us what is the vertical aperture (vertical HPBW) of the antenna !! 6, 8, 12 ??

assuming the V-HPBW = 8°, a total downtilt of 12 degrees should help do the trick (the antenna coverage with 12 degrees tilt at 12m high is about 100m).
    With 10 degrees, you’ll have 120m theoretical coverage, but because reflections on buildings, it might go beyond 150m/200m.

But don’t reduce the power unless you feel it is necessary. Micro BTS already has a low EIRP, and reducing it further more might impact the indoor coverage.

Regards,

Abdel

Hi pix,

Thanks for your quick answer. Well we are going to use low gain antennas with a Vertical of 55 and 28 degrees. Also what I am thiking of is a great tilt may cause a wider cell which may increase the overlap between the other neighbouring cells. By the way I am using MacroBTSs with a PA output power of 40W for microcells so I think reducing the power might be a good idea. What do you think pix?

pix

“low gain antennas with a Vertical of 55 and 28 degrees”

that’s a bad choice to put this kind of antennas at 12m above ground.
    55° = you must put at least 30° tilt