Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Switched service

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Andrea Parker

Hello!

I am a student preparing my senior thesis on the commercial telecommunications market in some particular European countries (Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands). I am looking for some information more specifically on a relatively new product called switched service.

Which companies already offer this service? How do they market? Is marketing targeted towards a certain type of client? How do they price? Do they offer discounts based on volume? ethnicity? time of day? How are different companies’ prices positioned against one another? against the national operator?

Please contact me if you have any information whatsoever, or a valuable site to retrieve this info.

Thanks,
    Andrea Parker
    Andrea16@goplay.com

Mark Webb

Carrier access codes have come in to vogue here in North America. A series of digits can be used as prefix calling digits followed by desired telephone number. The carrier access code (such as 1010321) is used by the telephone company/ Local Exchange Carrier to “switch” the call to the LD carrier specified by the code. Each LD carrier has it’s own unique code, and some LD carriers market different services and rates by use of unique carrier access codes.

Carrier access codes have been used for many years here in U.S – but it is only recently that several second or third tier carriers (those smaller than the big guys like AT&T, MCI and Sprint) have begun to actively market the use of carrier access codes. There is no pre-subscription required for basic use of a code. This gives someone the ability, from their home or business, to choose multiple LD carriers. You can also access the big carriers through these access codes.