Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Erlang Distribution

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    James

Hi I am a programmer working for a large telecomm’s company. I have to write some code to load a GSM base station; I want to use an erlang distribution. The user will input the calls/hour rate, test duration and call holding time from this I need to calculate how the calls will be distributed through out this time. Can anyone offer me any help on how to do this in the way of formulas etc. I no the question is ambiguous but I am new to the telecomm’s industry and still don’t know much about it.

Thanks

James

Guilherme

i have some formulas:
    L- #calls in the period
    T- call holding time
    A- traffic in Erlang
    You can calculate in two diferente ways:
    1- A=L*T
    2- A=(sum(holding time))/period

hope to help

Cameron

Am I correct in assuming you are wanting to simulate calls on/through the Base Station?
    Erlang assumed that calls arrived in a uniform random manner, so the “Erlang Distribution” is really a uniform random distribution.
    One way to simulate this is to divide the hour up into 1 second time slots and calculate the number of calls arriving in that second using a random number generator and the call per hour rate converted to calls per second by dividing by 3600, for example. Most computer software has random number functions that gives uniform random numbers.
    You then have to use the random numbers the function generates to determine if there is a call made in the one second time slot by working out the probability of a call, or a number of calls in that one second period.