Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Dynamic Abis dimensionning [edge]

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 45 total)
  • Author
    pix

Hello,
    I’m glad I found out about this forum! I’m a radio engineer working for a telecom vendor.

Does anyone have experience with dynamic Abis dimensionning, for an EDGE network ?

The dynamic Abis allows a pool of Abis timeslots to be used by any TRX which needs it. So I know the principle. But how do you know how many E1 you need ?

I guess you need to use some kind of Erlang formula ?

Thanks.

Pavel

Transmisson capacity for EDAP can be calculated not from Erlang formula – because it is not CS traffic, but PS traffic, so you just need peak values of your traffic and prefered QoS parameters.

Example.

If you are expecting 2Mb packet traffic(EDGE/GPRS) from your BTS – you should dedicate 1xE1 for your EDAP.
    Also – if you will have 2Mbit packet traffic at BTS- I can say you are happy man 🙂

Vanderley

When you dimention abis you should check what coding scheme do you have for example MCS9 uses 5 abis subslots. So if you have for example 4 TS for PS on every sector, for a 3sector BTS you will need just for PS 3*4*5=60subslots which is 15 timeslots on the abis.

Pavel

2Vanderley: of course, you are right – all depends of your radio part, but I have never seen top load on all 3 cells in same time. I mean, that 15 TSL – is good, but I am not sure that it is going to be used at 100%. My prose to calculate it like 3*4*5*0.7=42 subTSL which is 10 TSL in Abis.
    But if you have no transmission or PCU licensing limits- do your EDAPs as much as peak traffic can be.

Vanderley