Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Silence Problem

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Abdel

Hi everybody,
    I am a telecom technician and I got a problem in my GSM network, we use both 900MHZ and 1800MHZ. The problem is the call is silent for a while then it becomes ok then silence then ok, sometimes silence will not stop, and then you have to cut the call and call it again. Usually this silence caused one way communication, may be you are transmitting but not recieving and the caller can hear you well but you can’t. Any idea what this problem is related to, can it interference, also we use adjacent frequancies,not in the BCCH but in TCHs.

Madhu

To Abdel

1)The call mute can be because of Interference.
    2)Poor RX_LEVEL
    3)BAD transmission

Regards
    Madhu

t28

hello abdel,

I agree with madhu, my advice is…
    go to the field, do many MOC, if you find mute call, perform force handover to another site. if mute call is still continuing, it is trans (I mean NSS) problem, for example with echo-cancellers, if problem disappear you should check HW & frequencies on cell where you established MOC…
    what dou you think about it ???

Riz

Hi,

This is a very comman problem. It’s ‘coz of multiple reasons. See any call is basically a circuit or channel. I.e:
    Call(Circuit made of this call) =

TRX-TS,KSW-TS,GPROC-TS,TS-on the E1 port at site ==> TS-E1 port at BSC –> ksw-TS-> TS at E1 port going towards transcoder ==> ts- e1 transcoder-> KSW-TS ==> MSC E1 Pool (physical cables).

[
    TS = time slot / channel of trx or ksw or gproc or E1 link.

gproc= proccessor at site,bsc,xcdr.

ksw= kilo port switch== multiplexer high way, distributing the ch/TS to/from E1 port to their correct destination(tS/CH on E1 port, trx, gproc .). It is inside site, BSC, transcoder.

E1= 32(30) 64kbps channels (=2Mbps) port. It is a serial to parallel – wise versa converter.

]