Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Synchronization clock problems

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Abdel

Hi everybody,
    I am new in Telecoms and my company is waiting me to solve everything.My company is a mobile operator, fixed line and internet provider and the whole network has no any clock resource at all, such as a BITS machine or Strantum 1 or 2,
    and we have a lot of unkown problems may be caused by the lack of clock, therefore can anybody tell me the effect of lack of clock?

cybhert

Its analogous to a human body with no heart beat… no clock? drop calls are rampant… your network would be in chaos… so if synchronization or clocking is present. MOC and Trunk calls would be in error. Call connection would be a major problem, fixed it with attaching or giving your nework with an external clock source. There are equipments there or brands that would be happy to equipt your network with their brand of clock like HP or symmetricom…

Phaysal

Hi,
    I see everywhere, everyone saying that lack of sync can drastically affect network KPIs. but no one really put that in numbers, or even equations. Can you provide any info in this regards?

Pix

i’ll just bring my 2 cents :
    if there is no synchronisation between 2 BTS, it will not degrade the KPI of the network. Indeed, it is actually a normal situation ! 2 BTS are usually NOT synchronized. It is the MS that will re-synchronize automatically every time it is performing a HO to another BTS.

Now, between BTS and BSC and MSC, there is always a synchronization : they can communicate on their interfaces.

A global synchronization between all network elements is not necessary for normal utilization (voice calls, GPRS, EDGE, SMS, etc..)

Phaysal

Hi,
    My be i m not getting the point here, but if the two BTS are not synchronized, then how would an handover take place. coz IS-95 imposes 3us/day limit for frequency inaccuracies.