Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

BHCA

• This topic has 19 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 20 years ago by Scot.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Babis

How can I know the traffic
    handling capacity of my switch
    if I know that it can handle
    20000 BHCA;

Ou Danyang

I am a wireless neywork plan engineer.I want to know how to calculate a wireless cell’s traffic.I am from China.

Oscar Reyes

Babis,
    all depends on your Average Call Holding Time(usually in seconds)… after knowing that you just multiply times the 20,000 BHCAs and that would be the total traffic (in seconds). If you want that on Erlangs you just divide by 3600 (60 times 60, first to convert to minutes then to erlangs)….
    Traffic(Erl)=BHCA*ACHT(sec)/3600

Rodney Anthony

Oscar,

What is the definition of ACHT mentioned in your answer above, how do we calculate it

Oscar Reyes

Rodney,
    The ACHT is the average time (usaully in seconds) or duration of a call, for example, if the average of the calls is 2 minutes, that means your ACHT is 120 seconds, you could measure it by dividing the total traffic by the total number of call attempts or calls. If the traffic is in Erlangs then your ACHT would be in erlangs (i.e. if the ACHT is 0.1 Erlangs that would represent that the lenght of each call in average is 0.1 Er or 6 minutes or 360 seconds, rememebr that 1 Er equals 60 minutes).
    The total traffic can be obtained from the statistics of your switch as well as the call attempts.
    Be sure that the traffic and the call attempts were obtained during the same period of time (for example a 24 hour period or specific day).

Greetings

OR

Julian

Supposed that I gonna purchase a system. Apart from specifying the BHCA, do I need to specify also the ACHT for something meaningful?

Oscr Reyes

Usually you only specify BHCAs, but if you already know ACHT, is OK…

Julian

Hi Oscr,