Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Voive over telephone cable

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Manny

I have always been intrigued about how you can transmit and receive data over a cable at the same time.
    Let’s take a simple example; if I’am talking over the phone(A)and someone is hearing(B) my conversation reaches B and he hears it. Then B responds to me (A)
    and vice versa. What I say goes over the telephone line and what the other person responds goes back over the same telephone line. We don’t always speak at the same time, but, and this is my question, if we talk at the same time to each other
    how the voice signals transmited to and from as waves at the same time over the telephone line do not collide with each other if they are being transmited “up and down” at the same time over the same cable. I don’t know if I made myself understood but since I’m not a telecommunication professional I try to ask using my own words.
    Thank you for your answer.
    Manny

Tach

Hi Manny, try to think of elecrical impulses as light, because that is exactly what it is. Our phone lines are just a medium to tranmit light. If I point my flashlight at you at the exact same time that you shine your flashlight at me, we both see each other in the dark. When we talk face to face we transmit and receive at the same time. This is because we have built in drivers(Voice) and built in receivers(ears).

Thanks

Manny