Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Microwave Transmission

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 114 total)
  • Author
    Yunusa

Hi All,

I am an electrical engineer working with a telecommunication outfit in Lagos, Nigeria.

Could anyone help me on the the following questions please?:

What factors determine the choice of the size of microwave dish in a transmission link.

What are “Space and Frequency diversity” in microwave transmission.

regards,

Yunusa.

Anjung

Hi Yunusa,
    If we want receive signal level better than we need bigger dish. Usually for distance (d) :
    d < 1 km the dish is 0.3m 1 km < d < 20 km the dish is 0.6m 20 km < d < 30 km the dish is 1.2 or 1.8 d > 30 the dish is 2.4m
    But it is depend on planning

Space Diversity (SD): one hop (system) with two antennas at different height. By using to antennas, we can select one antenna which receive better and then the other at standby mode.
    Frequency Diversity (FD) means one system using two frequency f1 and f2 then we select which receive better as ‘working frequency’ and the other as standby mode.
    In SD and FD, the selection mode can be made automatically
    that’s simple explanation, i hope help you

vijayaraj

hai yunusa,

generally for 0.3mtr dish gain is around 32dBi.For 0.6mtr dish it is around 37dBi.For 1.2dish gain is around 42dbi.when the high gain dish antenna’s used the receiving level will be increased and the link will be stable.

In maintenance view it is difficult to install and maintain 1.2 or 1.8mtr dishes.so its better to go for 0.6mtr dish for short hops.

Arindam

Dear Yunusa,
    The selection of antenna size depends on the antenna gain you need. The required gain is arrived at by calculating the link budget. The following formula gives u the gain for any parabolic-dish antenna.

Gain(dBi)=20 Log (7.4 f d )
    f=frequency of operation in GHz
    d=antenna diameter in meters.

Priya